Inky Jellyfish

I love jellyfish, aesthetically speaking.  I am fortunate to have never been stung by one which means I can maintain my fond relationship with them.  I find them completely compelling, mesmerising to look at.  Their shape and the fluid lines inspire me.  I have, as such, drawn very many jellyfish over the years.  You can see a few of them on a post over on my personal blog.

My explorations in mixed media (a year now!) have led me to learn about and experiment with new materials and techniques.  As ink is my “go to” medium, I have been particularly pleased to discover spray inks and I decided to incorporate those into some drawings of jellyfish.  I really like the effect of the bold splatters and the more subtle spray.

These two are swimming off to a new home in Kansas.

Jellyfish - Turquoise - Feb 2015

Jellyfish - Turquoise - Feb 2015 - Close Up

Jellyfish - Pink - Feb 2015

Jellyfish - Pink - Feb 2015 - Close Up

7 thoughts on “Inky Jellyfish

  1. Pingback: 100 Crazy Critters – #21 – Jellyfish | Pict Ink

Let's chat! Leave a comment and I will reply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.